Broken.

Posted: 01/16/2011 in JOURNEY

On Wednesday we kicked off our mid-week groups for the year :)  It’s always exciting to see Britni’s house packed full of students.   During small group we talked about our relationship with God and how would we describe it in 2010.   Then we picked our one word for 2011.   My word is CONTENTMENT.
I’ve been praying that God would show me my next step of obedience with regards to contentment.   Then He broke me last night while doing a reflection of 2010.  You can download a PDF of 20 reflection questions here.

One of the questions is “What did you waste a lot of time doing last year?”   My answer was Facebook and Twitter.  I spent A LOT of time reading status updates and looking at pictures.   Most of the time leaving with disappointment in how students are talking and wasting a lot of time that I could have been spent doing better things.

Better things include:  reading my Bible, praying, reading with my kids, and playing with my kids.
I just told my boys of my brokenness and crying last night.  But that GOD has GREAT things ahead!   They were excited :)

Here’s the verse that spoke to me this morning:

Psalm 51:17 “The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.”

 

Comments
  1. jheezy12 says:

    Good things < Better things… keep it up babe!

Leave a Reply

